Dvorak: the beginning


I have done a crazy crazy thing: I’ve switched to a Dvorak keyboard. It is basically a much healthier alternative layout to the standard QWERTY layout.

Image of Dvorak keyboard layout

I was inspired to the point of jump-now-worry-later when Holly Lisle’s blog post triggered my interest and I started reading up on it. The two primary benefits are the elimination of repetitive strain injuries (something I already struggle with), and an increase in typing speed, which can be as much as 600%!

The downside is the initial retraining of one’s neurons and muscle memory. After practically eating, sleeping and breathing QWERTY for 15 years, this is a major adjustment. At this point any sort of typing is painfully slo-o-o-o-o-ow and frustrating — this post took me almost 2 hours to type!

I can’t wait for this initial phase to be over; as a writer I can already see the benefits of typing like the wind, injury free.

Enhanced by Zemanta
2 thoughts on “Dvorak: the beginning

  1. Anthony says:

    How’s it going with the Dvorak keyboard? I’m a software developer with terrible keyboard habits and I’m looking to sort them out (after 30 years!) I’m sure I won’t do anything about it but I’d still like to know how the experiment’s working out.

    Thanks,

    Ant

    • Elmi says:

      I can certainly see the benefit to it, but it was taking longer than I thought to adjust to the new layout. Since I’m a writer, I have (temporarily) switched back to QWERTY simply because I can’t afford to take an hour to write a simple paragraph 🙂 I’ll go back to Dvorak once I have at least a month of no deadlines or important stories to update regularly. The main thing I’ve learned is that the initial learning period is horrifyingly painful.

Leave a Reply

