Luxurious 60th birthday card


Luxurious 60th Birthday CardLuxurious 60th Birthday Card

I made this card on special order for a lady at my LSS after she saw some of my cards. I took great pains to make it worthy of a lady who is turning 60. Oh, and the entire image is made up of a serviette!

Close-upI got the idea to use a serviete when I saw some cards in the Australian Cardmaking, Stamping and Papercraft magazine that used serviettes as very successful focal images. When I saw these beautiful flower serviettes at a small craft store, I knew what I would do with them! I only bought 4 at the time not knowing I’ll use them all at once (I only thought of layering them later), and when I went back for more the shop has closed down :(. So this is truly a “one of a kind” card.

I decoupaged 4 serviettes onto pieces of card stock (for strength), then cut one of them out to serve as the background, letting the flower “hang over the edge” of the border. For the rest I only used the flower part, which I cut into smaller pieces and layered using foam tape to create a 3D effect. I stuck some of the card stock mats on mounting board for a bit of depth and strength. Finally I decorated the inside with beautiful paper and gold ribbon.
Elmi

Supplies:
card stock: black, textured gold, dark green, white, violet red
tools: Cricut “Base Camp”, border punch [used on inside paper]
other: serviettes, mod podge (Heritage Craft Products), small gold brads (Making Memories), foam squares, sheer gold ribbon, mounting board

2 thoughts on “Luxurious 60th birthday card

  1. Percy says:

    I came accross your card on google. I saw that it was the same severette image I have! I used food film to adhere it to card. used sparkle glitter to highlite leaves and stamen. Other crafters loved the looks ,but not the technique. I you need more of these let me know as I purchased a package from the pound shop here and loads left over. You created a beautiful card! Keep it up.

    • Elmi says:

      Thanks a lot! I loved the outcome of the card, I think it was one of my best cards ever, but it was a lot of work and I honestly doubt I’ll do that again (unless someone pays me a LOT of money, ;P ) but thanks for the offer for the serviettes. And thanks for the compliment, I appreciate it more than you could know.

Leave a Reply

