Pink and brown ‘Birthday Wish’


Pink and brown birthday cardPink and brown “Birthday Wish” card with large flower

Oh, I had so much fun making this one! I made it for my MIL‘s birthday, and I had the idea for it in my head for 4 days before I got a chance to make it.

cardConfession time: this is a biggie for me – I have never, NEVER used pink. Ever. I don’t even own any pink clothes and I even refuses to use a pink toothbrush! (If you wanna know why just ask me, the story is too long to bore you with it here.) Yet this card is one of my all time favourates, and I will be doing more of these in the future!! The only reason I ventured into enemy territory is because Heidi Swapp (among others) has been doing the most amazing things with pink, and this has slowly been eroding my aversion… it took a while (like, 6 years?) but I’ve taken this small step for man, which might just result in a giant leap for card-kind :-). Oh, and the brown designer paper by SEI has a silver sheen, which does not show in the photo, but is simply beautiful. I embossed the sentiment with copper embossing powder to match the paper.

Supplies • card stock: pink (base) by unknown manuf., cuppachino (inside lining) by Bazzill Basics • designer paper: “Jolie Chocolat” mouse 8-1905 by SEI • sentiment: Expressions by Hot Off The Press • inks: “Tattered Rose” distress ink by Ranger, “Chestnut” pigment ink by ColorBox • flowers: large pink flower by Heidi Swapp, coffee flower by BoBUNNY • ribbon: FabScraps • copper embossing powder by Great Impressions • tools: Fiskar corner rounder

Leave a Reply

