Sea star and Ocean card


Sea Star and Ocean cardSea Star and Ocean card

This was an ‘out of my comfort zone’ card. I have been reading Faith Hofrichter’s blog, and she is always making these really bold, beautiful cards with beach scenes (even though she hates the beach!), and I have had this My Sentiments Exactly! sea stamp set for ages, but never knew what to do with them. Well, she inspired me to just do it. This is what I’ve come up with, and I’m actually comfortable with the way it turned out 🙂 I masked the verse’s lines and stamped each line on a torn piece of blue vellum which I layered over inked paper to look like waves. I’m especially proud of the sea star’s colouring – I did that with a mask, ColorBox Qeueu inks and a dauber, then I covered it with Glossy Accent (by the way, did you know that sea stars came in every single colour known to man?)

Update: I just realized that I’ve made this card with a bunch of stuff I’ve gotten for free… The frame’s paper was a Christmas present from my mom, the stamp set I got for free when attending an MSE! workshop, and the fibres I got at my scrapbook store for ‘just showing up’ on a lucky draw day. Now how about that…

SUPPLIES • white cardstock: Bazzill Textured • paper: DL Scrapbooks • velum: Hot off the Press • stamps: sea star sentiment (SS111) and ‘Atop the mighty waves’ (M384) by My Sentiments Exactly! • ink: StazOn jet black, ColorBox pigment ink • Ranger Perfect Pearls • old gold mini brads: Making Memories • fibres • Glossy Accents by Ranger

One thought on “Sea star and Ocean card

Leave a Reply

